According to the US National Cancer Institute, cervical cancer progresses through the following stages:

Stage 0 (PRE-CANCER)

Abnormal cells are found in the lining of the cervix. These abnormal cells are known as pre-cancer and without treatment, may eventually become cancer and spread into nearby tissue.

With early detection, most cases of pre-cancer can be treated and don't progress and develop into cervical cancer.

Stage 1

Cancer is found in the cervix only. Stage 1 is divided into stages 1A and 1B, based on the size of cancer tissue that is found.

Stage 2

Cancer has spread beyond the cervix but not to the pelvic wall (the tissues that line the part of the body between the hips) or to the lower third of the vagina. Stage 2 is divided into stages 2A and 2B, based on how far the cancer has spread.

Stage 3

Cancer has spread to the lower third of the vagina, and/or has caused kidney problems. Stage 3 is divided into stages 3A and 3B, based on how far the cancer has spread.

Stage 4

Cancer has spread to the bladder, rectum, or other parts of the body. Stage 4 is divided into stages 4A and 4B, based on where the cancer is found.

  • Tell your friends about HPV 16 and 18 and the importance of testing. Early detection can help save you from cervical cancer!

    Act now!

Together, HPV 16 and 18 contribute about 70% of all cervical cancer cases.

Know the statistics

Why do I need a test for HPV 16 and 18 if I have already had a Pap smear?

Getting tested